Join Our Community Free Access to LIVE Transformational Webinars

We love your privacy

Intro To The Chakras


We talk about chakras quite often on The Beyond The Ordinary Show. From guests who are experts in blocking stagnant energy, aligning your energy centers, or healing you on an energetic, emotional, physical, and spiritual level, your chakras are involved. So, what exactly are your chakras?

Chakras Are Energy Centers
To put it simply, your chakras are the centers in which energy flows. There are seven main energy centers starting at the base of your spine and traveling up the length of your body to the crown of your head. Each of these main energy centers are referred to as chakra, a Sanskrit word meaning wheel. A chakra is a wheel-like spinning vortex of energy that moves in a circular motion drawing in anything it encounters on its particular vibratory level. So maybe it’s not that simple afterall.

The Constant Movement Of Energy
The seven main chakras, because of their wheel-like movement, are always changing – opening and closing. There are times where chakras are more open or more closed, often manifesting in the mental or physical bodies. Balanced and open chakras can increase your energy levels, motivation, willpower, and sleep. Blocked or closed chakras can leave you confused, unmotivated, or lost, and can contribute to illness and disease.

To live at an optimal level it is important to take a look at what is going on inside and get to know your chakras.

The Seven Main Chakras

Root Chakra (Muladhara)
Represents your foundation of stability, survival, and grounding. Its color association is red and it is located at the perineum or base of your spine. Your root chakra is associated with your legs, feet, bones, large intestine and adrenal glands. It controls your fight or flight response; referring back to your feelings of survival. Blockages in this chakra may develop and show up as paranoia, fear, procrastination, self-worth issues and defensiveness.

Root Chakra Affirmation – I am.


Sacral Chakra (Svadisthana)
The sacral chakra is located between the base of your spine and navel, and is most concerned with emotions. Oftentimes your hips contain stuck emotional energy, whether that’s stress, anxiety, or repressed emotional memories – this is sacral energy that has been blocked. In addition, the sacral chakra is associated with your lower abdomen, kidneys, bladder, reproductive organs and glands, This chakra represents desire, pleasure, sexuality, procreation and creativity. Stagnant or stuck energy may also manifest as emotional problems (those tight hips mentioned above), compulsive or obsessive behaviour and sexual guilt.

Sacral Affirmation – I feel.


Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)
The solar plexus chakra controls our confidence, and is often considered to house the ego. The color associated with it is yellow and it is located just above the navel in the solar plexus area. This chakra is concerned with your digestive system, pancreas and adrenals, and may manifest in the physical and emotional bodies as anger, frustration, confusion, or narcissism. Feelings of personal power, laughter, joy and anger are associated with this energy center, as well as your sensitivity, ambition, and confidence to achieve.

Solar Plexus Affirmation – I do.


Heart Chakra (Anahata)
The heart chakra, of course, is the energy center for love, compassion, peace, and harmony! Its color is green and it is located at your heart center. This chakra is connected with your lungs, heart, arms, hands and thymus gland, and any energy stagnation of this chakra can appear as immune system, lung or heart problems.

Heart Chakra Affirmation – I love.


Throat Chakra (Visuddha)
This energy center is associated with speaking your truth! Its color is blue and located within the throat. It is the chakra of communication, creativity, and self-expression. t physically expresses itself in your neck, shoulders, arms, hands, and thyroid glands. The throat chakra is concerned with the creation of ideas, healing, transformation and purification. Any energetic block in the throat chakra can manifest itself as writers or creative block, difficulty in communication or speaking one’s opinions.

Throat Chakra Affirmation – I speak.


Third Eye Chakra (Anja)
The third eye chakra is the center for your intuition. Its color is indigo and is located at the center of your forehead between your eyebrows. It is the energy center of question, perception and knowing, and is associated with inner vision, intuition and wisdom. An imbalance or block in this energy center may appear as depression, feelings of being stuck, isolation, or close-mindedness.

Third Eye Affirmation – I see.


Crown Chakra
The crown chakra is the spiritual connection to your Higher source, and develops your spiritual maturity. Its color is violet and is located at the top of your head. It is associated with the cerebral cortex, central nervous system and pituitary gland, and is concerned with information, understanding, acceptance and spiritual bliss. Imbalance in the crown chakra may manifest as psychological problems

Crown Chakra Affirmation – I understand.

Download this Beginner’s Pocket Guide To the Chakras